PSAT Preparation Program

Who takes the PSAT/NMSQT Test?


The PSAT/NMSQT is the initial screening test for the National Merit Scholarship Award. Once students take the PSATs and get their scores, they must then begin the process of applying for the NMSA by submitting their school grades, recommendations, and personal essays. 

Only about 8,000 finalists for the scholarship are chosen out of 1.3 million high school graduates each year. High school juniors who wish to compete for the very prestigious National Merit Scholarship Award need to prepare for the PSAT Test in order to achieve their highest possible scores.


Any student can take the PSAT Test to get a preview of the SAT I Reasoning Test. The PSAT Test is given only once a year, in October.


A perfect score on the PSAT is 1520 points, a combination of 760 points for each of the two sections—math and Evidence-based Reading and Writing. Once students receive their PSAT scores, they can see in which areas they are weak, and then work to strengthen those areas.


Accel Academy’s SAT Programs are excellent preparation for the PSAT.

Talk to an Advisor

(215) 635-5780

1329 W. Cheltenham Ave.

Melrose Park, PA 19027

Hours of Operation

Phone: Mon-Fri 9AM - 9PM ET

             Sat 8:30AM - 5PM ET

Office: Mon-Sat 9AM-9PM ET

Moodle Icon.png


Cheltenham: 1329 W. Cheltenham Ave. Melrose Park, PA 19027

N. Wales: 1364 Welsh Road, N. Wales, PA 19454

Villanova: 800 Lancaster Ave, Villanova, PA 19085

Paoli: 23 Paoli Pike, Paoli, PA 19201

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Yelp Social Icon